MEDIA ADVISORY: National results of USC Dornsife/LA Times poll to be released Friday, 1/19

January 18, 2018

This political poll is the first in a series this year leading up to the November 2018 midterm elections. Voters weigh in on issues ranging from President Trump’s approval rating to their economic outlook. Political scientists and polling experts will discuss the results at a teleconference, also on Jan. 19.

Contact: Emily Gersema, (213) 361-6730 or gersema@usc.edu; or James Key, (213) 821-2992or jameskey@usc.edu

WHAT: Results of this year’s first USC Dornsife/LA Times poll will be released on Friday, Jan. 19 at 10 a.m. PST (1 p.m. EST), followed by an 11 a.m. PST (2 p.m  EST) teleconference for media.

Data tables and survey methodology will be accessible via the Unruh Institute poll website. Among the national voter issues that the poll measures:

  • Likelihood of voting for a Democratic or Republican member of Congress in 2018
  • Opinions of President Donald Trump
  • Trump’s policies
  • The Russia investigation
  • Views on the 2020 presidential election
  • Trust in experts and the political system
  • Perspectives on racial discrimination
  • Obstacles for women
  • Immigration
  • Whether people expect to be better off financially a year from now

The poll was conducted in English and Spanish among more than 3,600 members of the Understanding America Study, a national probability-based internet panel of adults recruited from among a list of all households in the United States. Internet-connected tablets have been provided to individuals who were not already online.

The USC Dornsife/LA Times poll is a partnership of the Los Angeles Times and two institutions of the USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences: the Unruh Institute of Politics and the Center for Economic and Social Research.

WHERE

The results, methodology and data tables will be available at: https://dornsife.usc.edu/unruh/polls/

Interview opportunity

A media teleconference call about the national poll results will be held at 11 a.m.Friday, Jan. 19.

The following experts will discuss and take questions:

  • Robert Shrum, director of USC Dornsife’s Unruh Institute of Politics
  • Jill Darling, survey director of USC Dornsife’s Center for Economic and Social Research
  • Mike Murphy, Republican political strategist
  • Doug Herman, Democratic political strategist and principal at The Strategy Group

Spots are limited. RSVP to Emily Gersema at gersema@usc.edu or (213) 361-6730 or Jim Key at jameskey@usc.edu or (213) 821-2992.