USC Experts Can Comment on Supreme Court Decisions

750px-Supreme_Court_Front_Dusk

Decisions on DOMA/same-sex marriage, the Voting Rights Act and affirmative action expected to be handed down as soon as 6/20.

Contact: Gilien Silsby at 213-500-8673, 213-740-9690 or gsilsby@law.usc.edu; Andrew Good at 213-740-8606 or gooda@usc.edu.

DOMA/same-sex marriage

David Cruz is an expert on constitutional law, civil rights and gay rights at the USC Gould School of Law. He can comment on Supreme Court rulings on DOMA and same-sex marriage. He can explain why and how individual justices ruled as they did, what impact the ruling will have on states, and the impact of the rulings.

Cruz can be reached at (213) 740-6830 or dcruz@law.usc.edu

Voting Rights Act

Jane Junn is an expert on political behavior and polling methods at the USC Dornsife College. She co-authored an amicus brief including research on the need for the Voting Rights Act. She can speak extensively on current and historical polling practices.

Junn can be reached at (908) 399-6186 or junn@usc.edu.

Christian Grose is an expert on politics and race at the USC Dornsife College. His most recent book, “Congress in Black and White,” Includes research on the Voting Rights Act.

Grose can be reached at (818) 277-6789 or cgrose@usc.edu.

Voting Rights Act/Affirmative Action

Daria Roithmayr is an expert on constitutional law, race and affirmative action. She can discuss the meaning of the Court’s decisions on affirmative action and the Voting Rights Act. She can also discuss decisions on DOMA/same-sex marriage.

Roithmayr can be reached at (310) 367-1295, (213) 740-6228 or droithmayr@law.usc.edu.

Jody Armour is an expert on constitutional law, race and affirmative action. He can discuss Supreme Court decisions on affirmative action and the Voting Rights Act. He can also discuss decisions on DOMA/same-sex marriage.

Armour may be reached at (323) 573-0444 or jarmour@law.usc.edu.