A broadcast first: KUSC to air series from Chinese symphony

May 25, 2017

CONTACT: Allison Engel 213/740-1927 allison.engel@usc.edu

Starting at 8 p.m. Saturday, May 27, Classical KUSC will air a series of 13 concerts from the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra — a first for U.S. radio audiences.

Each concert will air from 8 – 10 p.m. on Saturdays, through Aug. 26. The series features an all-star line-up of soloists, including Lang Lang, Maxim Vengerov, Yo-Yo Ma, Yujia Wang and Christian Tetzlaff. Guest conductors include Zubin Mehta, Sir Andrew Davis, Osmo Vänskä, Daniele Gatt and Paavo Järvi.

Culminating in highlights from the inaugural Shanghai Isaac Stern International Violin Competition, the final broadcast in the series will present the $100,000 grand prize-winning performance of the Shostakovich Violin Concerto No.1. The series also offers performances from the orchestra’s pioneering young artists program, the Shanghai Orchestra Academy, operated in partnership with musicians from the New York Philharmonic.

Most of the recordings are from the past three seasons and were made in the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra’s new hall, which opened in September 2014.

The full schedule, with soloists and program highlights, is below.

The series is being distributed by the WFMT Radio Network in Chicago, and also will air on KUSC’s sister station, Classical KDFC in San Francisco, starting at a later date. The host for all the broadcasts is KDFC announcer Hoyt Smith, an award-winning classical host who is also a world traveler.

The Shanghai Symphony Orchestra was Asia’s first symphony orchestra, and presented Asian premieres of works by Beethoven, Brahms, Tchaikovsky, Strauss, Mozart, Mendelssohn and other giants of classical music. Maestro Long Yu has served as music director of the Shanghai Symphony since 2009, and regularly appears as a guest conductor with orchestras around the world.


May 27, 2017

Long Yu

Maxim Vengerov (violin)
Ildiko Komlosi (mezzo-soprano)
Lang Lang (piano)

Chen Qigang: Instants d’un opéra de Pékin
Chen Gang/He Zhanhao: The Butterfly Lovers Violin Concerto
Verdi: “Nei giardin del bello” from Don Carlo
Saint-Saens: “Mon coeur s’ouvre à ta voix” from Samson et Dalila
Trad./Zou Ye arr.: Jasmine Flower
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1 in B-flat minor, Op.23

Program also includes a highlight from the Shanghai Orchestra Academy:
Haydn: String Quartet in D Minor, Op.76, Nr.2, Hob.Ⅲ:76, mvt I. Allegro

June 3, 2017

CONDUCTOR: Sir Andrew Davis – Berlioz, Beethoven, Holst
Daniele Gatti – Verdi

SOLOIST: Eoin Andersen (violin), Liwei Qin (cello), Du Ningwu (piano)

Joint performance by Shanghai Symphony Orchestra and Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Berlioz: Roman Carnival Overture
Beethoven: Concerto for Violin, Cello and Piano in C major, Op.56
Holst: The Planets featuring the Shanghai Opera House Chorus Female Choir

Shanghai Symphony Orchestra only
Verdi: Overture from Nabucco

(No broadcast on Saturday, June 10. A live Pacific Symphony concert will air in the 8 – 10 p.m. time slot that evening.)

June 17, 2017

Zubin Mehta – Beethoven
Chen Xieyang – Zhu Jian’er
Long Yu – Saint-Saëns

Serena Wang (piano)
Julian Rachlin (violin)

Beethoven: Leonore Overture No.3, Op.72b
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.1 in C major, Op.15
Beethoven: Symphony No.5 in C minor, Op.67
Zhu Jian’er: A Wonder of Naxi
Saint-Saëns: Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso, Op.28

June 24, 2017

Daye Lin (Wagner, Bartok, Brahms)
Long Yu (Rachmaninoff/Carpenter)

Ba Tong (viola)
Cameron Carpenter (organ)

Wagner: Prelude to Act I, Lohengrin
Bartok: Viola Concerto
Brahms: Symphony No.4
Rachmaninoff/Carpenter: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini

Program also includes a highlight from the Shanghai Orchestra Academy:
Michael Kamen: Quintet for Brass

July 1, 2017

Zhang Jie Min (Dvorak)
Paavo Järvi (Smetana)
Long Yu (Gershwin)

Yujia Wang (piano)

Dvorak: Carnival Overture, Op.92
Smetana: Má Vlast
Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue

Program also includes a Gershwin medley performed by organist Cameron Carpenter, and a highlight from the Shanghai Orchestra Academy:
Bernstein/McGuinness: “One Hand One Heart” from West Side Story
Wagner: Pilgrim’s Chorus from Tannhäuser

July 8, 2017

Long Yu (Huang Yijun, Qigang Chen, Orff)
Zhang Jeimin (Ravel)

Lilian Giovanini (soprano)
Berj Karazian (tenor)
Thomas Bauer (baritone)
Chorakademie Lübeck (Burana)

Huang Yijun: Beautiful Flower and Full Moon
Qigang Chen: Luan Tan
Orff: Carmina Burana
Ravel: Rapsodie espagnole

Program also includes highlights from the Shanghai Orchestra Academy:
J.S. Bach: Trio Sonata No.5, BWV529, mvt II. Largo

July 15, 2017

Long Yu (Guo Wenjing, Mozart, Prokofiev)
Steve Reich (Reich)

Tang Junqiao (bamboo flute)
Johnson Li (piano)

Guo Wenjing: Bamboo Flute Concerto No.2 Wildfire
Mozart: Piano Concerto No.20 in D minor, K.466
Prokofiev: The Love for Three Oranges Suite, Op.33bis
Steve Reich: Tehillim

July 22, 2017

Osmo Vänskä (Grieg, Berlioz)
Kristjan Järvi (Scriabin)

Alice Sara Ott (piano)

Edvard Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op.16
Hector Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique, Op.14
Scriabin: The Poem of Ecstasy, Op.54

Program also includes highlights from the Shanghai Orchestra Academy:
J.S. Bach: Contrapunctus 14

July 29, 2017

Daniele Gatti (Li Huanzhi)
Long Yu (Zhao Lin)
Chen Xieyang (Tchaikovsky)

Yo-Yo Ma (cello)
Wu Tong (sheng – Zhao Lin)

Li Huanzhi: Spring Festival Overture
Zhao Lin: Duo

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No.4

Program also includes a highlight from the Shanghai Orchestra Academy:
Piazzolla: Histoire du tango

August 5, 2017

Yang Yang (Szymanowski)
Zhang Guoyong (Zhu Jian’er)
David Stern (Mozart)

Guillaume Molko (violin)
Wenmeng Gu (soprano)

Brahms: Hungarian Dances Nos. 1, 6, 5
Performed by Berlin Philharmonic violins and Shanghai Symphony Orchestra cellos
Szymanowski: Violin Concerto No.1, Op.35
Zhu Jian’er: Symphony No.1, Op.27
Mozart: “Exsultate, jubilate”

August 12, 2017

Paavo Järvi (Sibelius, Mendelssohn, Ravel, Stravinsky)
Daniele Gatti (Verdi)

Christian Tetzlaff (violin)

Sibelius: Finlandia, Op.26
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op.64
Ravel: Mother Goose Suite
Stravinsky: The Firebird Suite (1919 version)
Verdi: Otello Overture

August 19, 2017

Shui Lan

Sasha Cooke (mezzo-soprano)

Corigliano: One Sweet Morning
Rachmaninoff: The Isle of the Dead
Tchaikovsky: Francesca da Rimini

Program also includes a highlight from the Shanghai Orchestra Academy:
Mozart: Serenade, KV361, No.10
Debussy (arr.J. Heidenreich): Golliwog’s Cakewalk from Children’s Corner

August 26, 2017

Highlights from the Shanghai Isaac Stern International Violin Competition

Zhang Jie Min (Mozart)
Michael Stern (Shostakovich)

Christian Tarara (violin – Mozart)
Mayu Kishima (violin – Shostakovich)

Mozart: Violin Concerto No.3 in G, K. 216
Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No.1

Program also includes music by Bach, Paganini, Sarasate and Brahms.

#   #   #

Once a small student-run station broadcasting from the University of Southern California campus, KUSC is now the largest and most listened to public radio and non-profit classical music station in the United States. Located in downtown Los Angeles, the station broadcasts hand-picked commercial-free classical performances, useful insights about music and coverage of the arts in Southern California.

The listener-supported station is a broadcast service of the University of Southern California and can be heard at 91.5 (FM) in Los Angeles and Santa Clarita, 88.5 in Palm Springs, 91.1 in Thousand Oaks, 93.7 in Santa Barbara and 99.7 in Morro Bay/San Luis Obispo. It is live-streamed around the world at kusc.org and can be heard via apps and on media players, as described here.