Democracy in peril? Political chaos in the nation’s capital

January 6, 2021

The U.S. Capitol building is under lockdown due to chaos in Washington DC. Members of Congress were in the House and Senate chambers to vote on certifying the presidential election results, but they were evacuated as protestors stormed the building. USC experts are available for comment.

Contact: USC Media Relations, uscnews@usc.edu (213) 740-2215 or Jenesse Miller, (213) 810-8554 or jenessem@usc.edu

 

Experts available

Christian Grose

Christian Grose is an expert in U.S. politics and government, especially the role of race in the political process. He is associate professor, USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences and Academic Director of the USC Schwarzenegger Institute for State and Global Policy.

Contact: cgrose@usc.edu

@christiangrose

Robert Shrum

Robert Shrum is an expert in presidential elections, political advertising and policy. His is director of the Center for the Political Future at the USC Dornsife College.

Contact: shrum@usc.edu or (202) 338-1812

@uscPolFuture

Jody Armour

Jody Armour is an expert in the intersection of race and legal decision making as well as torts and tort reform movements and author of N*gga Theory: Race, Language, Unequal Justice, and the Law. He is the Roy P. Crocker Professor of Law at the USC Gould School of Law.

Contact: jarmour@law.usc.edu

Manuel Pastor

Manuel Pastor is an expert on economic, environmental and social conditions facing low-income urban communities – and the social movements seeking to change those realities. He is professor of Sociology and American Studies & Ethnicity at the USC Dornsife College.

Contact: mpastor@dornsife.usc.edu or (831) 566-9601

@Prof_MPastor

Mindy Romero

Mindy Romero is an expert on civic engagement and political rights. She is the founder and director of the Center for Inclusive Democracy, part of the USC Sol Price School of Public Policy.

Contact: msromero@price.usc.edu

@MindySRomero

Ange-Marie Hancock Alfaro

Angie-Marie Hancock Alfaro is an expert on the intersections of categories of difference like race, gender, class, sexuality and citizenship and their impact on policy. She is Dean’s Professor and incoming Chair of Political Science & International Relations Department at the USC Dornsife College.

Contact: ahancock@usc.edu

@AngeMarieH

Steven Ross

Steve Ross is an expert on American social history social, political and economic factors that have shaped America, including immigration, industrialization, urbanization, war, poverty, crime, politics and success, as well as race, class and gender conflict.

Contact: sjross@usc.edu